top of page
  • Vivian Crawford

Vaccine Interviews

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

By Vivian Crawford


As we all know, three vaccines have been approved for Covid-19. 16.4% of the U.S. population has been fully vaccinated, and 29.4% of Americans have received their first dose (CDC). As of March 25th, Georgia has now opened vaccination up to anyone 16 and older. I wanted to interview a few people who have gotten the vaccine, to hear about their experience and why they got it. I have interviewed some people from SGA and some from outside the school. Mrs. Strine- the chemistry and trigonometry teacher at SGA. Mrs. Pillsbury- program director at Artios Academies. Dr. Daniel Crawford (grandpa)- family physician for over 40 years. Lilly Pullen- junior at SGA.


Why did you get the vaccine?


I chose to get this vaccine because I believe that it is one of the best ways that I can protect my family and others in the community from this deadly virus that has killed almost 3 million people in our world and left many others struggling to overcome its effects. I feel that my greatest calling in life is to love God and love others, and part of loving others for me means acting in protection of those around me, especially those who have greater or different needs than I do. Also, I believe that God is the author of all science, and I am thankful for the scientific knowledge that He has given to our current scientific community that offers us a method via which we can prevent great suffering among our fellow humans.

-Mrs. Pillsbury


I recently finished up a year of chemo/immunotherapy for stage III melanoma. Due to some underlying health conditions (most resulting from the treatment), it was recommended that I get the vaccine.

-Mrs. Strine


I am a person of science and a Christ-follower. The science tells me that the vaccine is a safe and effective way to protect myself and those around me from a potentially fatal disease. As a Christian, I have an obligation to care for myself, my family, and my community as Christ would.

-Dr. Daniel Crawford


My brother is high risk and technically I qualify as one of his “caregivers” since I drive my family around. It was pretty important for me to get it since I left the house as often if not more than my parents.

-Lilly Pullen

What are you looking forward to doing now that you have it?


Truthfully, not much will change for our family immediately, as we will still continue our aware and protective lifestyle until greater percentages are vaccinated and the community spread is under greater control. But ultimately, I'm most looking forward to gathering with family and friends for meals and celebrations, participating in live events within the arts, taking my kids on field trips to some of their favorite places, and returning to church in-person.

-Mrs. Pillsbury


Eating in a restaurant

Going to the movie theatre

Working out at the gym

Going on a cruise in December

Traveling to Europe next summer

Getting back to normal

-Mrs. Strine


I have not changed my behavior since being vaccinated. Still too many unknowns.

-Dr. Daniel Crawford


Hanging out with friends more, maybe going out shopping or whatnot more, POSSIBLY coming back to school once i get my second dose, though it’d probably only be for the last couple of weeks.

-Lilly Pullen

Would you recommend people to get it?


I would definitely recommend that all who are eligible get one of the approved vaccines. It's an easy way to protect yourself and others, and the data is strongly in support of their safety.

-Mrs. Pillsbury


I think getting the vaccine is a personal decision. I do think the vaccine is safe for most people. However, I would be cautious and consult with your doctor if you have any type of immune disorder or any underlying health conditions.

-Mrs. Strine


Definitely! Unless someone has a serious allergic reaction to a previous vaccine, there is no good reason to refuse this vaccine. It is good for the individual and good for society. The side effects are minimal.

-Dr. Daniel Crawford


Yes, absolutely, if it's possible. So far I haven't gotten any adverse effects and it was only sore for a day before going back to normal, which I think is a very small price to pay to keep me and my family safe. STAY SAFE PEOPLE!!!!!

-Lilly Pullen


How many doses have you gotten?


I have received two doses of the Pfizer vaccine.

-Mrs. Pillsbury


Just one. I received my first dose of Pfizer on March 11th. Due to my reaction, I will be unable to receive the second dose.

-Mrs. Strine


2

-Dr. Daniel Crawford


Only the first one so far. I’ll get the second on April 23.

-Lilly Pullen

Did you have any side effects/ reactions to the shot?


With my first dose, I only had some arm soreness and I might have been a little extra tired (but I'm pretty exhausted most days anyway!). I had my second dose just two days ago, and with this one I have experienced fever and body aches from about hours 9-48 after the vaccine. It's still completely worth it to me.

-Mrs. Pillsbury


Yes. The vaccine triggered an autoimmune response related to my cancer treatment, resulting in a diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) coma. I also developed autoimmune diabetes and autoimmune myocarditis as a result.

-Mrs. Strine


Only slight soreness at the injection site.

-Dr. Daniel Crawford


Not at all, other than it being a little sore. The shot itself hurt, but it wasn’t too bad. Other than that, nothing!

-Lilly Pullen

Do you regret getting it?


Not in any way. I'd do it again without hesitation, and I am very thankful that I have been able to be fully vaccinated already.

-Mrs. Pillsbury


Yes and no.

Yes - I was hospitalized for over a week, spending most of my time in the ICU. I have been completely unprepared for the amount of time it is taking to regain my strength and mobility after leaving the ICU. I have little or no memory of my time in ICU and did not realize how ill I was at the time. Even this first week home has been a bit “hazy”. I am currently taking beta blockers and high doses of steroids for the next two months (possibly more) for myocarditis. The most life altering change will be moving forward as a Type I diabetic.

No - I am officially a case study and hopefully my experience with the vaccine will help others.

-Mrs. Strine


Definitely not.

-Dr. Daniel Crawford


Nope!

-Lilly Pullen


Is there anything else you want to share with people about your choice to get vaccinated?


I do believe that any vaccination should be a personal choice and should not be mandated. In fact, our family has made non-traditional choices with regular vaccines and schedules, so this was not a decision that was made lightly in any way. However, my opinion is that this global pandemic is in a different category than the diseases currently addressed through other types of vaccinations. After watching the way this horrible virus has devastated the lives of so many people I know (and those that I don't know personally), with no end in sight, my choice for vaccination is one made out of love for others above myself.

-Mrs. Pillsbury


Getting vaccinated is a very personal choice, not everyone may choose to do it. I was dealing with a few health concerns as a result of my cancer treatment and had been on the fence about whether or not to get vaccinated. I was finally resolving some of these issues when the vaccine opened up for teachers early March. My risk of having any complications was very low and so I made my appointment for March 11th. There is a lot of uncertainty as to how everyone will respond - my reaction to the vaccine was extremely rare. It will take some time for me to fully recover, but hopefully I will have some immunity with the one dose that I did receive.

-Mrs. Strine


I suspect it will shortly be offered to people under the age of 16. I hope that by the end of the year all Americans will be vaccinated.

Don’t forget that, like many choices we make, the effects are not just personal but collective and societal.

-Dr. Daniel Crawford


Do it please! Unless you have medical reasons for not getting vaccinated, I absolutely recommend that you get it. It will help keep people safe at almost no risk to yourself. My mom’s best friend, who is a doctor at Athens Regional Hospital, said that to get herd immunity we need to have around 70-80% of the population vaccinated. Right now it’s only 20-30%. Let’s help reach that goal and help keep people who can’t get the vaccine healthy! Stay safe, people!

-Lilly Pullen


This has been such a learning opportunity for me. As a daughter of someone who works in immunization at CDC, I do have a bias towards getting the vaccine, but I am open and willing to hear everyone's opinion and experience. I know that the vaccine might not be safe for everyone, and I understand that in the end it is a personal decision. Remember though, that this is only one side of the story. Whether or not you and your family got corona, this past year has been life changing for everyone. There have been hundreds of thousands of deaths from this disease, and millions of people who were infected. No matter our opinions on vaccination and this pandemic, we are all Christ-followers and should listen to and respect one another.


One perk of getting vaccinated, is that Krispy Kreme is offering a free doughnut every day with proof of vaccination ;)


112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page