top of page
  • Kelsey Howlett

To the Guild Gazette's Resident Celebrity

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

Author | Kelsey Howlett |


Michael Powell was an incredible guy. I knew him for years. I think I first met him when he was in middle school. Not only was he one of the funniest people in SGA, but he was also caring and consistent. If I needed something done, I would text Michael. He always had ideas for JC club improvement and engaging more with the student body. My favorite memories of Michael were spent at my house. He often came for the many parties I threw in high school. The most significant memory at my house was the Journalism Christmas party. We decided to film a cooking skit. I remember talking to him about my vision for the skit. However, he completely made it his own and it was better than I imagined. Everyone there laughed until they cried during filming that night. Not keeping up with him after high school is something I will probably regret for a very long time. Although I did not know Michael very well, I am lucky I spent the years with him I did. He was a great asset to any team and a great friend. Rest in peace, buddy.


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page