top of page
  • Alex Woolf

To Panic or Not to Panic: An Upper Classman's Guide to Surviving the SAT/ACT

Updated: Jul 4, 2022

Author | Alex Woolf |

As high school students, there are days when thinking about the future seems too stressful even to attempt. If this is you, my friend, do not feel like you are alone because I promise that there are millions of other students just as worried as you. One major cause of highschool students' anxiety is the single test on which their entire future seems to hinge. In the words of Karen Walker, "The tests are a big deal, but they are not the biggest deal in life." When preparing for the ACT or SAT, it is essential to remember that this test does not define you or who you will be. But, with all that being said, how do you conquer such a momentous task? Well, this is not as simple as practice this or that; it depends on each person and where they struggle and excel.


Take the test; ask questions later.


The most important place to start if you have never taken a standardized test is with the actual test. Whether it is taking the real test or grabbing a practice book and taking one of their tests, you must understand where you are. If you were like me and your weaknesses stand out very clearly, then I encourage you to put more time in those areas. However, please, do not make the same mistake that I did and neglect your strengths because if you can max out your strengths, that means less work for you in your weaknesses. Now, all this talk of strengths and weaknesses is great, but how do you fix it? Sadly, that answer is a bit more complicated, but I'll share my experiences and how it helped me.


Practice Makes Perfect


When I began my standardized test journey, I was just about as reluctant as someone can be. It just seemed so impossible, and I wanted to enjoy my time off, but I promise you, it is worth your time. With a little motivation and a whole lot of complaining, I started my prep on Khan Academy online. Since I attempted minuscule amounts of that, at first, and, therefore, was unable to take advantage of that resource. If you have determined that the SAT is the test for you, then I would start there to get your feet wet, moving on to a book if you feel you need it. Yet, I encourage you not to feel pigeon-holed. I transferred to the ACT after taking the SAT twice and feeling stuck, which I have heard from many students. Sometimes trying the other test is beneficial, or at least trying a practice test to compare scores. For me, the best avenue for prep was The Official ACT Prep Guide, which also has an SAT counterpart. This book is equipped with four full tests, practice problems, answers, and instructions. But if you are like me and want to raise your score 5+ points (which these resources helped me do), then I would consider exploring more focused studying. There are booklets that you can buy online (I am currently using The College Panda ACT Math) to help with specific sections, which in the case of needing math or grammatical help could be greatly beneficial since they are knowledge oriented. The baseline is simple- practice, practice, practice. The more you practice, the better you do, and that's easy to say but painful to implement.


"The most common mistake I notice is that students don't take advantage of learning tips and strategies. Another common mistake is not practicing for the tests."- Mrs. Karen Walker


Ask what if I did, not what if I can't


Beyond just the act of studying, it is essential to remember your reason behind practicing. Whether for a scholarship or entrance into your dream school, keep your goal central in your mind as you study. You may even want to post your goal on the wall. Believe me, I understand the last thing you want to do after a full year of school is ACT/SAT prep over the summer or on breaks; however, during those tiring practice tests, renew your perseverance with the image of how happy you will be when you have raised your score and enter your dream college. "I think learning about the tests and knowing what is a good score or what score the student wants is important. It gives them something to work towards and something to celebrate when reached." - Mrs. Karen Walker. I hope that my experiences and tips will benefit you in restored gumption if nothing else. Sadly, I cannot offer the miracle formula or quick fix because there is none; it merely takes time. But, I believe that anyone can achieve their desired score with a little bit of help, a lot of practice, and their goal in mind.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page