top of page
  • Sara Sands

The Uncomfortable but Important Conversation

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

By Sara Sands


As many of you may know, September was Suicide Awareness Month. As we spring into October, I want to remind us that suicide prevention and awareness are essential every month, not just in September.

I’m sure you’ve heard statistics on how many people we lose to suicide, but let me refresh your memory. In 2019, suicide was the overall tenth leading cause of death here in the U.S. There were around twice as many suicides as homicides (I don’t know about you, but that seems pretty crazy to me). The World Health Organization tells us that this is the fourth leading cause of death in individuals between fifteen and nineteen. But that’s enough numbers for now.

Now, I propose the big question that has troubled me for years; why don’t we talk about suicide more if it is a significant cause of death, especially since it can be prevented? Society likes to answer this question by saying that suicide is unpleasant to talk about, which is a fair statement. But here’s the thing; the less we talk about it, the more alone these people feel. I’m sure we all have had those times where you meet someone and bond over similar experiences that you share. This probably made you feel less alone, right? So, why do we tell the people who need connection the most that they cannot engage in it because it is somehow wrong? By doing this, society feeds into a struggling person’s mind and gives them another reason to feel alone and hateful towards themselves.

I won’t lie to you and tell you these conversations will be easy. These types of conversations are challenging, whether you are the one who is hurting or the shoulder to lean on. But these conversations are essential to the healing process of a suicidal person. The prevention of suicide begins by allowing these people to be honest about their feelings without being shamed.

Coming from someone who has been suicidal before, I can attest to how important communication is. I thought I wasn’t allowed to talk about my feelings because I would be “too much”. Keeping my feelings a secret for so long was what ultimately led me down the path of suicidality. But I was lucky enough to learn that I should never be ashamed to speak my thoughts aloud, and I would say this was what saved me. So please, if you think someone is struggling, reach out to them. It will be a hard conversation to have, but it could save their life.

If you’ve read this far, I appreciate you sticking with me. I hope this article has given you a better understanding of the concept of talking about suicide. I would like to remind you all that reaching out for help is never a bad thing. No matter what society tries to tell you, your feelings are valid, and you are allowed to speak of them, no matter how dark they may be.

Let’s all love a little harder, be there for each other, and be open to the hard conversations. Let’s be the generation that breaks this cycle of rising suicide rates.



“And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope. Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us. For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.”

Romans 5: 3-6






51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page