top of page
  • Kaidee Bolden

The Escapades of Scholars Guild Students: Thanksgiving Break Edition

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

Written by Kaidee Bolden


Thanksgiving Break: the one week of the year where even though everything is as hectic and chaotic as can be, you can at least get a good meal at the end. Throughout the years, families develop traditions, annual trips, and some of the most mouth-watering dishes you’ve ever had. This month, we’re taking a look at some of the Thanksgiving traditions and experiences of students from our very own Scholars Guild Academy.

First up we have Noah Rooks, sophomore and member of the Beta Club. Noah happily explains, “For Thanksgiving Break, usually my family gets together… so my family from Texas, my family from Florida, my family from [Georgia] get together at my grandparents’ house as we hang out and have a good time.” There’s nothing quite like getting family from different states together to be able to have a fantastic holiday and just have fun. Noah, we wish you and your family all the best this Thanksgiving Break.

Daniel Wright — junior and the Guild Gazette’s very own sportswriter — tells us all about his family’s yearly Thanksgiving meal, and you’re bound to find it beyond appetizing. “Every year, for as long as I can remember, we have had the same things at Thanksgiving. With a grin, he tells me, “My grandma… makes this what we call macaroni casserole which is basically the best mac n cheese anyone has ever cooked. My brother makes apple pie and my mom makes Kentucky Derby pie which is basically a giant chocolate chip cookie in a pie shell. All of those are fantastic, but my favorite thing is to pair my brother's apple pie with my dad's homemade cinnamon ice cream. Those two paired together are possibly the best thing I eat all year long.” Just the description of this delectable meal is enough to have all our mouths watering.

Take time this Thanksgiving Break to reflect on the things you’re most thankful for, whether it be gathering with family for a delicious home-cooked meal or the little things in life like a smile from a stranger. The biggest lesson we’ve learned since March is to not take the things - or people - we cherish for granted.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page