top of page
  • Carter James

Mountain Dew Flavor Ranking



Mountain Dew is one of the most well known soft drinks of all time, and for good reason. Its unique taste and variety of flavors makes it a delicious and iconic drink. It’s one of my favorite soft drinks as well, and I have tried many flavors of Mountain Dew. I have decided to rank some of these flavors from worst to best. Keep in mind that some of the lower-ranking flavors are still pretty good (with one exception).


Worst Flavor - Flaming Hot


Without a doubt, the worst flavor of Mountain Dew of all time has to be the 2022 limited-time Flamin’ Hot flavor. The reason why it’s the worst flavor is because the aftertaste will make you want to puke, despite its very deceptive initial taste. It’s supposed to have a spicy citrus flavor, but all I taste is something more akin to battery acid and gasoline. I tried this once, and I swore to never drink this flavor again.


Maui Burst


This summertime flavor, exclusive to Dollar General, tastes like pineapple. It’s decent, but it’s never my first choice of flavor. This is primarily because I’m not the biggest fan of pineapple flavored stuff anyways. It may be lower on the list, but it still tastes much better than Flamin’ Hot.


Pitch Black



This dark flavor has a “dark citrus punch” flavor, with a hint of grape and blackberry, as well. The reason why it’s lower on the list is because I got flavor fatigue from it when it was released for a limited time in 2023. That doesn’t mean it was a bad flavor, though.


Voltage


This electrifying flavor tastes like a combination of many different berries, primarily raspberry and citrus. My only criticism of the flavor is that it tastes better in a bottle than it does in a can, since it tastes more metallic from a can.


TIE - Major Melon and Spark




Both of these flavors are tied because I tend to think of one when I think of the other. They both have sharp, fruity flavors, yet Major Melon leans more towards sweet, while Spark leans more towards sharp. They’re both good flavors, but the only reason why they are ranked here is because there are other flavors that I consider drinking before these two.


Baja Blast


Baja Blast is a classic summertime flavor, with its iconic and tropical flavors. Primarily a Taco Bell exclusive flavor, it is sold in stores for a limited time during the summer season. My only criticism of this flavor is that the flavor is more noticeable from the bottle than from a can. The best Baja Blasts, in my opinion, are from Taco Bell.


Best Flavor - TIE - Original and Code Red

The best Mountain Dew flavors of all time, in my opinion, are the iconic original and Code Red flavors. Original dew has a notable citrus flavor, while Code Red has a cherry flavor. They are both iconic and delicious flavors, and are usually the first choice of Mountain Dew flavors that I get. They are tied because I tend to alternate between the two when I decide what my favorite flavor is.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page