top of page
  • Daniel Wright

Mikey

Author | Daniel Wright |


First of all, I want to make it clear that what you are about to read does not completely encompass my feelings about Michael. He was unlike anyone I’ve ever met and he meant more to me than I can make clear, so if this seems at all open-ended or vague, I can assure you that is why.


I knew Michael Powell for a long time. I met him on the first day of 6th grade (5th for him) in literature. I still remember walking into Mrs. Doolittle’s classroom, seeing this short kid with glasses, and thinking, “There ain’t no way he is old enough to be here.” I found out about 6 minutes later that he was smarter, wiser, and more mature than me despite the grade, age, and height difference. I also found out very quickly that he was wildly funny. I can’t even begin to explain how hilarious everyone thought he was. I was friends with Michael all through middle school, but it wasn’t until he joined journalism club that I really got to know him. We constantly clashed over college football, music, and other stuff, but we became really good friends. Our text conversations ranged from sports to meme culture to camera equipment and everything in between. I’m pretty sure we discussed everything that could possibly be talked about during quarantine, but don’t fact-check me on that one. His constant jokes always lightened any situation and his wit was unmatched. I never wanted to not be around Michael. It didn’t matter if it was in class, in a hallway, at a journalism club meeting, at lunch, or away from school altogether, I absolutely loved hanging out with him. Some of my favorite memories center around Michael. Justin removing him from a journalism club meeting for blasting “Baby Shark” is certainly up there. The cupcake sketch we filmed a couple of years ago was hilarious also. I’ll never forget how he looked when he got off the floor covered in flour. Meeting the drunk YouTuber at the journalism conference at UGA was awesome too. I could go on, but you get the point. He was so funny, so brilliantly hilarious, that it was impossible to dislike him. I’m never going to forget his infectious laugh and smile after a witty joke or sarcastic remark, either.

I really did love being around Michael. He embodied kindness, generosity, and charisma. There was never a time that he was rude to me and he was selfless even when he didn’t have time to be. Michael’s friendliness and friendship towards me never ceased, regardless of whether or not I was being a good friend or a crappy one. I didn’t interact with him nearly as much as I wish I had since he left SGA. I still wish I had made more of an effort to go see him at work or hang out with him. His friendship affected me in so many ways that I can’t even begin to put it into words. I’m extremely grateful for that. I hope we all remember Michael with fondness and I hope we all live life with a renewed purpose, because I know that’s what he would’ve wanted. Tell your friends and loved ones how much they really mean to you. Don’t let them forget it, either. Rest in peace, Mikey. Don’t have too much fun in Heaven without me. See you soon, friend.

-Daniel Wright


87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page