top of page
  • Rosemary Harper

love in a heavy coat

By Rosie Harper


how many days will it take

to get over that one day

and when exactly

is everything supposed to stop reminding me of you?


when does every lyric stop hurting 

and will every song always be written by you?

October was sadder than September

but if I lost you in August, why was that true?


will you forgive me

for all of the memories we didn’t make

and could you give me back the pieces of my grandmother

that are buried in your grave?


will sunny days always make me cry

because the happiness is missing you

and I can’t help but wonder

do you grieve for me too?


is it ok if I don’t believe in myself

now that I’ve lost my biggest fan

is it ok if I miss the friend I had

while I was holding your hand?


if I could see you one more time

do you know what I would say?

and if you’re not here

how is any of this ever, ever supposed to be ok?


can it please stop hurting

but will you forgive me if it does

what if the pain is comfort

and everything, everything is just love



“And when I turned to face grief, I saw that it was just love in a heavy coat.”

-Shannon Barry 


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page