top of page
  • Bella Young

Advice Column- December

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

By Bella Young


What is the best way to be productive as a senior?

Great question! I am a senior this year, and this is the first year I have been disciplined enough to truly be productive. It’s not easy, but the best way I have found to be productive as a senior is to plan and carry it out. Each week, I make a realistic list of the work and other items I need or want done (even tasks I have already completed so I can check them off). Then, when it is time to do those tasks, I put away any distractions and set an appropriate timer for that task and take a short break after. Work isn’t easy, so reward yourself! Do your best and trust God with the rest.


I like a girl but I don’t know if she likes me and I don't want to get my heart broken if she doesn't. One of my friends swears she does but I honestly don't believe him. What should I do? I've been burned in situations like this before and I don’t know if I wanna try again.

Great question! This is not an easy decision, so I’m glad you asked! I would first ask your friend why he thinks she likes you. Then, I would see how she acts around other guys. A girl won’t treat you the same as any other guy if she likes you. I know it sounds cheesy, but pray about it! I cannot tell you how much hurt I could have avoided in relationships if I would’ve prayed and listened to God. Am I saying that you won’t get hurt if you pray? No, but God has a reason for everything and His plan is the best. I understand the fear of getting hurt again, so I would definitely be cautious; however, you never know if you don’t try. Evaluate your relationship with the girl, watch for signs, and pray about it!


Do you have a pet?

I’m not sure if this is a serious question, but it’s fun, so I will answer it. I have 4 pets (I had five but my fish just passed away R.I.P). I have a dog and three cats. They are all amazing (even the cats).


What do you do if your crush is sending mixed signals?

This is a hard situation to deal with, but let’s see if I can be of any help. First, I would watch how he/she is interacting with other guys/girls and compare it to how he/she is acting towards you. Most girls and guys treat the person they like differently (in a good way). Is he/she staring at you, making excuses to talk to you, complimenting you, or even acting extremely awkward around you? If so, chances are, he/she likes you. The number one thing I have noticed in crushes past and in figuring out whether he likes me or not is the attention he would give me. Pay attention and see if he/she is giving you special attention even if he/she isn’t trying to or trying to do it secretly. Above all, pray and ask God if this is a person to pursue. Good luck!


What’s up with hand sanitizers in local supermarkets? Sometimes I feel like I’m just rubbing my hands with goo. The “sanitizer” doesn’t feel clean and neither do I after using it. I want to be as healthy as I can but sometimes I wonder how truly healthy I’m being.

I relate to this so much!! Honestly, I wish I could tell you why the hand sanitizers in local supermarkets are weird, but I can’t. My best advice is to bring your own hand sanitizer, wash your hands before you leave, wash your hands when you get home, or all three.


How can I help anxiety?

Fantastic question! I primarily deal with social anxiety, and I have found a few coping methods that help. I found a counselor, learned to take deep breaths, got in touch with my senses, put it in a jar and saved it for when I was collected, and found someone I could trust. I understand counselors can be expensive or too far away. Look for some counselors for cheap, interns who work for free, or just any regular priced counselor. Also, most counselors offer virtual meetings if you are too far away. I go to The Ministry Village in Winder. Deep breaths help regulate the heart and bring down stress. There’s a specific countdown coping method with senses, but sometimes I am too anxious to remember; however, I try to find one thing around me that each of my senses tap into. Example: What do you see? Smell? Taste? Touch? Hear? When you put it in a jar and save it for later, you are not trying to avoid it. You simply are collecting your emotions and tackling it later. Remember to never throw yourself into isolation when dealing with anxiety. That doesn’t mean you can’t be alone, but make sure you have people checking in on you. Finally, as cheesy as it may sound, remember that the One who holds the seas, stars, and planets holds you. God is always with you and will never give up on you or give you something you can’t get through. Isaiah 40:31 encourages, “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”


Does earth have 2 moons?

I don’t believe so. Google told me no, so...that’s my best guess. Good question though.



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page