top of page
  • Kaidee Bolden

A Ray of Light

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

By Kaidee Bolden


A Ray Of Light

Who would’ve thought a year could pass by so quickly? Well here we are, over a year since the world shut down due to the Covid-19 pandemic. While we were faced with loss, social justice issues, and one of the most critical presidential elections in history, there was still good that came out of 2020! Today we’ll be taking a look at two students, Savannah Scott and Izzie Parsons, who decided to be a ray of light in a dark world.



First up we have Savannah Scott, sophomore and Journalism Club member, who started a new podcast - Savvy Says!

What inspired you to start your podcast?

“I was inspired to start the podcast because there was so much negativity in the word at that time and I wanted people to have a safe haven where they could receive encouragement, Biblical advice, and know that everything would be okay. :)”

What kind of content do you share?

“I mainly talk about teenage issues, specifically confidence, relationships, and how to share our truth with grace so that we can come together as a society rather than focus on things that drive us apart. Also I make it a point to start every episode with the verse Romans 8:18 because it is my favorite verse and it really is encouraging.”

Where can we find your podcast/do you have any social media accounts for said podcast?

“It is available on Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, iHeartRadio, Stitcher Podcasts, and BuzzSprout. I have an instagram specifically for the podcast where I post an inspiration during the week; it is @savvysayspodcast.”


Izzie Parsons, junior and Vice President of Beta Club here at SGA, started a mentorship and Bible study group for middle school girls! When asked what inspired her to start such an influential group, she replied:

“What inspired you to start such an influential group?

“I believe a girl’s middle school years are some of the most formative years in her life, and that you’re questioning so many things and seeking out who you are called to be.When I was in middle school, I longed for someone a little older than me but still close in age so they’re relatable . . . who could speak life and encouragement into me and show me what it’s like to pursue the set-apart path God has for you! So I started this group to hopefully be that person for some girls!”

Well said, Izzie! We’ll be praying for you on this path that God has you on right now!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page