top of page
  • Kaidee Bolden

A Letter to Michael

Author | Kaidee Bolden |


Dear Michael,

I keep trying to write about you but I never finish what I start because nothing seems to encompass the impact you had on me. So instead of that, here’s a thank you letter. First of all, thank you for befriending me all the way back in my freshman year. I’d just moved to a completely new school and was already nervous about making friends, but it’s almost like you sensed all that before I could tell you any of it. Your smile when I walked into Mrs. Brothers’ Algebra I class every morning always made my day. I’m sorry for not telling you that sooner. Thank you for trusting me and being someone I could trust. I’ve told you things I haven’t told anyone else, and you’ve done the same with me. It’s hard to find a friend like that, but I found one in you and I’m glad you found that in me, too. Thank you for being such a good storyteller. Every time you told me a story, whether it be about crazy customer interactions or outings with friends or whatever else, you always made me feel like I had been right there with you. You used such vivid detail. Thank you for all the nights you spent on call playing video games with me. It feels like yesterday we were roaming a Minecraft world dying of laughter while bouncing jokes off each other. You always had such a sarcastic, dry wit and I loved it; It never failed to crack me up. Thank you for all the advice you gave me. You may have only lived to 17, but I swear you had the soul and wisdom of an 80-year-old. Thank you for all the movie recommendations. You’re the reason I got into Marvel, and consequently the reason that Captain America: The First Avenger is my favorite movie. I remember texting you before and after watching Onward and crying because it was sad but laughing because you could always cheer me up when I was sad. Thank you for the slow dances at homecoming. That was the last time I saw you in person, and I’ll forever be grateful for those moments I got to share with you. Thank you for sending me dozens of Reels on Instagram every day. I miss getting notifications that say “Michael Powell has sent you a Reel” and then laughing at whatever it was you sent. Most of all, Mikey, thank you for being you. Thank you for leaving such an impact on my life and the lives of so many others. Thank you for being a beautiful soul full of kindness and humor and compassion. Thank you for all that you’ve ever done, because Lord knows you’ve done so much for so many people. I miss you more every day, but I know I’ll see you again soon. I love you.

Yours,

Kaidee Grace


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page