top of page
  • April, Lydia, and Charlie Prickles

FREEDOM! One Last Letter from Your Editors

Updated: Jul 4, 2022

Author | Lydia Rice, Charlie Prickles, and April Breedlove |

Lydia: Why did we end up with Freedom as our theme? Well, it was basically because we didn’t think “Life and Death” was a particularly inspiring note to end on. That’s right, this is our last Journalism release for this school year. I suppose there is a bit of freedom for me in that. Journalism has been a constant in my life for about two years now (ya know, the whole two years we’ve had a Journalism Club) although obviously it’s been much more of a constant presence this year. I’ve worn many different journalistic hats this year and it’s definitely stressed me out sometimes. (See Mental Breakdown Tape 1,203) So, in a way, it will be freeing to move onto college rather than work on Journalism Club every week.

You’ve heard the saying, “Freedom isn’t free” right? In my case, I like to think it can be interpreted in two different ways. The first interpretation is that freedom always has a cost and sometimes the sacrifice is worth it for the outcome (this generally applies to things like war or civil rights). The second is that freedom always has a cost, but sometimes you’re so excited to obtain what you think is “freedom” that you don’t notice the cost until it starts “calling” to collect. A common example for Seniors is being so excited to leave for college, you forget about that whole “adulting” thing you have to do while there. Or, for me, being “free” from the responsibilities of Journalism club also means being “free” of the fun meetings and great bonds. Freedom, like everything in life, has duality, stemming from the way people interpret it and because it can appear in so many different situations to varying degrees.

Okay, so I think you see the point I’m getting at. Don’t rush to graduate too fast. Don’t rush life in general too fast. Am I super excited and ready to graduate? Definitely, but I enjoyed the time I had in high school a lot as well. As we are all let free this summer, take that time too and enjoy it to the fullest. As Phineas and Ferb say, “C’est La Vie!”

Charlie Prickles: Journalism is all about freedom, its purpose is literally to help ensure freedom of the press and speech and opinion, etc. It keeps individual expression alive, even the strangely written craziness that Lydia reads to me when writing her first drafts. And, not to get all un-prickly on your people, but Journalism Club this year has been all about freedom as well.

Freedom to hula hoop and brainstorm article titles, freedom to choose what you want to write for yourself, freedom in the signs and t-shirts and getting me, a cactus mascot. So, yeah, there’s not really a better theme for a Journalism Club to work with.

Alright, I’m done.

I’ve finished my Journalism Club propaganda, I have done my patriotic duty. April: Wow. After 9 months of hard work, we are finally publishing our last issue of the school year (cue the sad violin solo). And on top of that, I’m graduating (cue the even sadder piano ensemble). But let’s not get too emotional, because with the end of the school year comes the freedom of summer vacation! No more homework. No more projects. No more tests. Just 80 degree weather and sleeping in all morning. But let’s remember not to get too lazy in our freedom. Summer break should free us up to do the things we didn’t have time for before. For example, I haven’t had time to work during the school year, but I snagged a summer job so that college won’t leave me too broke. Some people have plans to work on their own businesses, learn to drive, or maybe even spend some time serving in their community. So go ahead, start writing that book, take that road trip, eat at that cute little cafe you’ve seen all over Instagram. Just remember to use your freedom wisely, and don’t let your time run out. When school starts this fall, and your teacher makes you go around the room and talk about what you did this summer, don’t be the one kid who says, “all I did was sleep and play video games.” Whether your plans are big or small, please, make the most of your freedom, and whatever you do, don’t be that kid.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page