top of page
  • Kelsey Howlett

Simply an Essential Elective

Updated: Jul 4, 2022


Author | Kelsey Howlett |


When McCartney Warr first told me she was taking Habitudes I, I was like, “What the heck is that?” She explained that it was a leadership class and a new elective at Guild, and I thought it would be a cool class to take.

Let me start by saying, I am SO glad I did.

Habitudes is a leadership class lead by the incredible Mrs. Strange. It teaches characteristics and skills essential for exceptional leaders. When asked what her goal for her students was, Mrs. Strange said, “How they can be confident in their potential to be a leader.” Weekly, Mrs. Strange teaches a lesson from the leadership book. It can be a skill or characteristic, allowing you to have a realistic impression of yourself and, then, she challenges you about it. During the week, you are sometimes given an assignment for practical exercises of leadership.

For example, this can be talking to a new person and pushing your boundaries. The class discussions are really interesting (granted if people talk) because you can see different perspectives people have on the topics discussed. I appreciate Mrs. Strange because the book has some interesting “takes” on certain traits a leader should focus on and, if she does not agree with it, she will say so. She also loves hearing your perspective, so large portions of your grades come from participation in class. Every week when I come to class, she will first ask what everyone thought of the lesson and more importantly, if we agreed with it. I LOVE this because everyone gets to voice their own opinions and hash it out. We had a massive debate in Hab 2 about multitasking, needless to say, I won. ;)

As my first year progressed (I am in Hab 2 now), I started to realize how much value I gained from this class. It is effortless for people to coast in classes and not pay attention, but I am challenged in this class----not because of the classwork, but how it affected me as a person. I have changed so much from taking Habitudes. I am a better person.

Now, I am going to brag about Mrs. Strange. What a gem. She is such a sweet and genuine person. I love many teachers at Guild. I have attended since 6th grade, and she was immediately added to my list of favorites after I took Habitudes. Throughout the year, you spend so many class periods talking about yourself, your struggles, and your experiences in life; and she is attentive the entire time. She cares about you and wants to see you grow.

 

“I have a strong desire to see students do well and to have the confidence to lead and impact those around them. It has been a blessing to see how each of you has grown, so my motivation is to watch you grow and see your potential.”

- Mrs. Strange

 

I underestimated how much this would mean to me personally. She gets me; I am a very strange person, and she understands my quirks and weird facial expressions. During the year, she purposefully gets to know you---not just the tip of the iceberg but about your strengths and weaknesses, personal struggles, and experiences in life.

When I was thinking of the goal for this article, I wanted it to be a plug to take this class. I do not think it is very well-known, and it should be. The skills you learn in here are not crazy formulas to do problems for one chapter in precalc and never see again, but essential life skills. So if I have not convinced you, find me at school and I will. It will be a fun challenge. I cannot say enough how critical these skills will be for your life.

 

“I hope other students [around Scholars Guild] see the value in lessons being taught; it is not something you forget after one week, but can live by. Some important traits [like] character integrity, accountability, investment and all the things that go along with being a leader also holds true for who they can be as people. The more they learn about these aspects can help them influence other people.” - Mrs. Strange

 

Thank you, Mrs. Strange, for literally an incredible two years in your class.

Kelsey

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page