top of page
  • Nancy Glasscock

Fail the Trend, Don’t Let the Trend Fail You

Updated: Jul 4, 2022

Author | Nancy Glasscock |


Most people can agree that it is really easy to follow the crowd. Whether we realize it or not, we follow countless trends every single day; from daily habits to the way we behave, to the relentless and unforgiving topic of fashion. It is no secret that we are influenced by the people around us. Trends are one of the biggest loopholes in the history of mankind. Think about it; every era throughout history is different because someone decided to set a trend. Whether it succeeded or failed, it definitely left its mark. In order to make this article a little more relatable, read below and see some of our peers look back on their funniest memories of trends that they followed.

 

Emma Barfield


“I used to wear fake glasses thinking it was the coolest thing ever! They were bright pink with yellow and blue checkered sides. I was right around the age of 13, but I wore those things all day and acted like it was so cool to wear glasses.”

She went on to say, “I also used to want to wear suspenders all the time. I didn’t end up doing it very often, but any chance I could get I would tuck in my shirt and wear some suspenders, telling myself it was the “new thing”







Izzy Fleetwood


“Okay so for me, when silly bands were a thing I tried to have as many as I could of them on both of my arms. I was literally obsessed and I was always looking for new shapes. But then the principal got totally tired of them and then banned them from my old school. I thought they were cool because everyone else had them, but SIKE, it was weird and the principal knew it… [He] found it as more of a distraction….”




Grace Harris


“…Some of the best ones were silly bands, wearing everything from Aeropostale, Zhu Zhu pets (which nowadays makes no sense). Also, I remember how cool I thought I was when I would wear an outfit that completely matched (I mean like a pink shirt with pink pants and pink shoes). Those were some of the best ones…”

Ashley Strange


“…Sparkly headbands, infinity scarfs, and crocs ALL THE WAY. I had these neon purple crocs that I wore everywhere. They were my pride and joy.”

Kathryn Paul


“Lots of headbands, cutting my hair way too short, and crocs. I even had the croc buttons that you put on them. [There was] a rainbow, a my little pony, and a watermelon, and… a unicorn. Wow, what a throwback… I think I had all the Disney princesses on mine.”




Haley James

“…I’m not really a trend follower, but I did use to wear silly bands, I wore crocs (not a trend, but still not good) and I wore Bermuda shorts when they were really in.”








 

As followers of Christ we are told not to conform to this world, but whether we realize it or not, we still do every day. There are countless types of trends in the world, and as humans it’s easy to follow the crowd, but as Christians we should caution ourselves. Funny trends like these are harmless, but when it comes to more serious matters, just remember to guard your heart and look to the Lord. Also, if you ever look back on yourself and regret having followed a trend, just know that this article here is proof that it happens to the best of us. Remember it is always better to fail the trend than let the trend fail you!


88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page