top of page
  • April, Lydia, and Charlie Prickles

From the Desk of the Chief Editors: The First of Many

Updated: Jul 4, 2022


Author | Lydia Rice, Charlie Prickles, and April Breedlove |

Editorials are a special thing in journalism mediums.

Some science magazines use them as a short note from the editor, talking about their favorite things in the article and what theme they wanted to convey. Some political newspapers use them to give their opinions on subjects, providing a chance to air their totally honest feelings about a topic that lets the world know where they stand on that issue.

Editorials are the heart of any paper. They are personal, passionate, and powerful.

The editor-in-chief oversees the whole newspaper process. They don’t necessarily have veto power over articles or even edit all of them, but they are supposed to make sure the paper reflects their themes and tells truth with grace. Our motto Gratia Vero Scribere (write the truth with grace) is inspired by this principle.

Here at the Guild Gazette, we have three chief editors on staff: Lydia, April, and Charlie Prickles (with final approval from Admin and Mrs. Hensley). You’ll hear from all three of us in this letter.

Don’t worry, we’ll try to keep it short.

 

Lydia

If you’re a sharp reader or read more than one article, you’ve probably noticed the word “new beginnings” pop up. Most of our articles focus on new starts and revival. This is the theme our club chose for our first issue of this school year and it’s the theme we choose for all of you.

I know it’s trite, but you know that saying “every new beginning starts with an end” - it’s true. For me, this is the beginning of the end of high school.

New beginnings are kinda weird for me. I just obliviously slide into them without noticing. I’m not really afraid of them either. I was asked to co-lead Journalism this year and I was like, “Where do I sign? I’ve got so many ideas! So many people to recruit! So much publicity to run!”

But, this doesn’t mean I’m totally adaptable. I get grumpy when I have to change my schedule. I get scared when I start a new math course. I get lazy when I have to fill out financial aid for college forms. New beginnings can be hard and exhausting and painful.

They mean letting go of the past and starting something unique. Yeah, your first (and second and third and last) years of High School might seem pretty dismal. And there will be times when they are really a struggle, but it’s your life. You have the power to find new opportunities and make your own new beginnings. Just spend time doing things you love with the people you love.

Don’t know what you love? Don’t know who you love? Scared?

Join the rest of us. The best way to find your identity is to challenge yourself and find people that challenge you.

Our school - and staff - is filled with amazing people.

  • Nancy Glasscock can dance like an angel and wants to combine it with missions work.

  • Michael Powell runs a blog with over a hundred followers in middle school.

  • Kelsey Howlett literally runs a giant shipping business.

  • April Breedlove is starting a tutoring business in coding that supports the homeless.

  • Alex Woolf is writing a book (series).

  • Daniel Wright got 9th at National History Day in Washington DC out of thousands of people.

  • Abigail Hanglider literally saved a kid from drowning.

  • Sammi Rowell placed 1st in Gi fighting in her age group in Brazilian Jujitsu, and has been doing martial arts all her life.

  • Justin Burnett travels all over the world, crushing debate tournaments and getting “Best Speaker” out of about one hundred people at Heart of Europe (He is also awesome at Ultimate Frisbee).

  • Vivian Rice’s bed literally clinks if you drop a feather on it because of all the gymnastics medals.

  • Lilly Branch can sing and write songs like crazy (still waiting for an album to drop).

  • Me? I have no idea what I’ve done with my life, but I’m going to end up ruling the world.

Some of these people have medals, some don’t, but no one can deny they are doing amazing things. Make your own new beginnings! Find what you're good at - what you love - and change the world. I made the globe theater out of jello, climbed at least twenty different random objects in Washington D.C., and backed into our mailbox my first time driving.

And remember, every day is a new day. This is the truth that has gotten me through High School. I think. Probably. This roller coaster is not over yet.

Try not to die and c’est la vie!

 

Charlie Prickles

I don’t have a lot to say. I’m a mascot. I don’t do much.

My new beginnings are April and Lydia moving me around - Lydia keeps forgetting to put me in the sun - but my life is basically infinite. I see all. I know all. I do nothing.

The great thing about definitions is that they aren’t limited to one meaning. They can be interpreted differently by everyone. New beginnings can mean changing your lifestyle or they can mean changing your perspective. Trust me, a proper mascot knows what counts in life.

Does your friend say they’d die for you? Great. That’s great. But will they shove you into the pool and make fun of your favorite tv shows? That’s what really matters.

 

April

New Beginnings. Sometimes they can be scary, sometimes they can be exciting. All of us handle these new beginnings in different ways. Some of us run from change, and others wholeheartedly embrace it.

I have learned to no longer flee from new beginnings because change is inevitable. This entire year for me, literally starting on New Year’s Day, has been characterized by change. It was scary at first, but I have learned, and am still learning, that change is going to happen, so I might as well embrace it.

For this reason, I am very excited about this issue of the Guild Gazette. All of our writers interpreted this theme in different ways. These articles emphasize tones of fear, anticipation, and adventure, all of which are feelings and emotions that can accompany new beginnings.

As you read these articles, I want to challenge you to really think about how new beginnings

make you feel. If you happen to be one of the people who hide from change, I hope that this issue will help you see new beginnings from a different perspective, and help you learn to embrace whatever change comes your way.

87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page