top of page
  • Kelsey Howlett

10 Changes With Turning 18

Updated: Jul 4, 2022

Author: Kelsey Howlett



1. Charged as an adult

Congrats! You turn eighteen and although you are restricted from many things still, you are charged as a legal adult. This means no juvi. So do not be stupid. 


2. Moving out 

At this point in time, usually, eighteen-year-olds are moving out of the home. Wave goodbye to home cooked meals, siblings knocking on your door, the family pet, and all the other wonderful comforts of home. I remember one of my friends coming over to my house for dinner after he started college and he ate SO much food. I have an older brother, so I am used to food disappearing right after you make it, but he ate even more. He said it was the first home cooked meal he experienced all semester. So enjoy the advantages you have now. 


3. College

College is something that many people look forward to for a long time. However, now that you turned eighteen, it is right around the corner. You are about to start fresh. Besides the few friends you will keep in touch with, you are meeting a new set of friends. You are also introduced to a whole new environment as well. This is both awesome and terrifying, depending on your perspective. To quote the incredible Chris Traeger, “There is literally nothing you cannot do.” With the right mindset you can take on these new challenges with happiness and success. 


4. Future career

The dreaded question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” is now becoming reality. No pressure, but the choices you make in these next few years shape your entire life. Jobs that seemed intriguing as a kid, now seem impossible or maybe “too out there.” You have to find your passion, so do some internships or jobs to test the waters before you take the plunge!



5. Age  

I do not think I am the only one to say that the idea of turning 18 makes me feel old. It seems like 18 is the age that changes everything. You are officially an adult. 


6. Voting 

The biggest change when you turn 18 is participating in the voting system. You are now able to make decisions that affect everyone around you. I personally try to stay informed with current events so I make decisions based off my views and research, not just opinions I hear around me. 


7. Work hours

If you have worked in the past, you will know that before you are 18 there are strict laws on how many hours you are allowed to work. This means, you can now work a full time job. Companies can schedule you for any time of day and full time as well. 


8. Taxes 

Yay! You know the most exciting part of my year was filing for taxes… It is one step towards adulthood and there is nothing you can do to stop it. 


9. Tatoos

This is a choice that is permanent. So regardless if you like/want them, just know they are not going away.

 

10. Responsibility 

An overarching change with age in general is more responsibility. When you turn 18, you are officially an adult. This is a change that many are not ready for. It is exciting and new. It is a fresh start, of sorts, but mainly it is part of growing up. As my dear friend Lydia Rice once said, “New beginnings can mean changing your lifestyle or they can mean changing your perspective.” Age and growth are a part of life, the best thing to do is accept it. 


Hopefully this article did not scare you, I know it terrifies me but that is just my personality. One of my favorite shows ever is The Wonder Years. I am a very sentimental person and I love the Wonder Years because it is a show all about memory. It has a great quote about change and I am going to include it here to finish.

"Growing up happens in a heartbeat. One day you’re in diapers, the next day you’re gone. But the memories of childhood stay with you for the long haul. I remember a place, a town, a house like other houses, a yard like a lot of other yards, on a street like a lot of other streets. And the thing is, after all these years , I still look back, with wonder."


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page